BCALA Awards & Scholarships

BCALA Literary Awards

These annual awards recognize outstanding works of Fiction and Nonfiction by African American authors for adult audiences. Download the list of the 2013 Literary Award winners here.

The BCALA E.J. Josey Scholarship Award

Awarded annually to African American students enrolled in, or accepted by, ALA accredited programs. A list of the award winners is available here.
Information on other ALA-administered scholarship awards is also available from this page.

DEMCO/ALA Black Caucus Award for Excellence in Librarianship

An annual award of $500 presented to the librarian who has made significant contributions to promoting the status of African Americans in the library profession. Past Winners > >>

BCALA Trailblazer's Award

The Trailblazer's Award is the highest award given by the Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc. It is presented once every five years in recognition of an individual whose pioneering contributions have been outstanding and unique, and whose efforts have "blazes a trail" in the profession. Past winners >>