Black Caucus American Library Association
Black Caucus American Library Association
certificate of excellence with a red ribbon

In celebration of BCALA’s 50th anniversary in 2020, the 2019-20 E.J. Josey Scholarship Award Committee of the Black Caucus of the American Library Association seeks essay submissions that address the following topic:

“They Were Giants: How BCALA Early Leadership Helped Shape the Future of the Organization.”

The E.J. Josey Scholarships are unrestricted grants of $2,000, awarded annually to African American students enrolled in or accepted by ALA-accredited programs.

Persons Wishing to Apply Must:

  • Be an African American Citizen of the United States or Canada.
  • Be enrolled or accepted by ALA-accredited graduate program leading to a degree in library and information science at the time of application.

The deadline for the essays is on December 13, 2019. Essays should be submitted in Microsoft Word to [email protected].

The winning essays will be announced at the mid-winter meeting of BCALA in Philadelphia, PA during the Midwinter Meeting of the American Library Association in January 2020.

Special Instructions:

  • Include a cover letter providing the applicant’s name, address, phone number, graduate program, and name of the school and anticipated date of graduation.
  • Essay submissions must be in plain text, Microsoft Word format, to be mailed electronically as an attachment.
  • Only essays submitted electronically will be considered. Please include E.J. Josey in the subject line of your electronic submission. The essay must be typed and double-spaced.
  • Please use the MLA style and include a minimum of six bibliographical references.
  • Essays will be judged on the basis of good argument development and critical analysis, clear language, conciseness, and creativity.

For more information, please contact Sylvia Sprinkle-Hamlin @ [email protected].

Name Institution Year Amount
Anicka Austin University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill 2018 $ 2,000
Jabez Patterson Dominican University 2018 $ 2,000
Ayoola Maia White Simmons College 2017 $ 2,000
Christopher Robinson University of North Carolina-Greensboro 2016 $ 2,000
Kai Forsley San Jose State University 2016 $ 2,000
Neketta Borden Texas Women’s University 2015 $ 2,000
Kim McNeil-Capers Queens College 2015 $ 2,000
Alice Etim University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC 2010 $ 2,000
Ashanti White University of North Carolina, Greensboro, NC 2010 $ 2,000
Ms. Sandra Eddie Queens College, CUNY 2009 $ 2,000
Ms. Teneka D. Taylor U. of North Texas 2009 $ 2,000
Mr. Orisanmi Burton Long Island U. 2008 $ 2,000
Mr. Byron McGhee Valdosta State U. 2008 $ 2,000
Ms. Jennifer Blakely Wayne State U. 2007 $ 2,000
Ms. Kafi Laramore-Josey Wayne State U. 2007 $ 2,000
Ms. Angela Brooks U. of Tennessee 2006 $ 2,000
Ms. Tamitra Rose North Carolina Central U. 2006 $ 2,000
Ms. Cynthia Landrum U. of Southern Mississippi 2005 $ 2,000
Ms. Yasmin Morais U. of Toronto 2005 $ 2,000
Ms. Anita N. Jennings Texas Women’s U. 2004 $ 2,000
Ms. Marianne Harris U. of Arizona 2004 $ 2,000
Ms. Barbara Beebe U. of Southern Mississippi 2003 $ 2,000
Ms. Joy C. Jackson U. of Maryland 2003 $ 2,000
Ms. Delphia Williams San Jose State U. 2002 $ 2,000
Mr. Steven K. Profit U. of South Carolina 2002 $ 2,000
Ms. Tamika Maddox U. of Pittsburgh 2001 $ 2,000
Ms. Avril Haughton South Florida U. 2000 $ 2,000
Ms. Delores McLemore Clark Atlanta U. 2000 $ 2,000
Ms. Dorothy W. Williams McGill U. 2000 $ 2,000
Mr. Sterling Joseph Coleman Jr., Louisiana State U. 1999 $ 2,000
Ms. Lucia G. Fisher North Carolina Central U. 1999 $ 2,000
Ms. Jeralyn Jackson Clark Atlanta U. 1999 $ 2,000
Ms. Danielle M. Green U. of Tennessee 1998 $ 2,000
Mr. Roland Lemonious Clark Atlanta U. 1998 $ 2,000
Ms. Patricia M. Richard San Jose State U. 1998 $ 2,000
Ms. E. Murell Dawson Florida State U. 1997 $ 2,000
Mr. Steven G. Fullwood Clark Atlanta U. 1997 $ 2,000
Mr. Steven V. Haynie SUNY at Buffalo 1996 $ 1,500
Ms. Tamara Stewart Long Island U. 1995 $ 1,500
Ms. Beverly Huda Abdus-Sabur UNC Greensboro 1994 $ 1,500