BCALA and BiblioBoard Announce the 2019 EBook Literary Awards Winners

Press Release
For Immediate Release                      
Contact: Tiffany A. Duck or [email protected], Suffolk, VA

April 30, 2019                               

The Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc. (BCALA) and BiblioBoard announce the winners of the 2019 Self-Publishing EBook Award. Following the model of the current BCALA Literary Awards, the award honors the best self-published EBooks in fiction and poetry by an African American author in the U.S.  This is the fourth time BCALA and
Biblioboard have given this innovative award. The recipients will receive awards during the 2019 American Library Association Annual Conference on June 23 in Washington, DC.

The fiction category winner is Daykeeper by Ran Walker (Cool Empire Press).  Daykeeper deals with death and mourning as it relates to some of our most precious loved ones. Walker uses the main character to challenge the reader’s empathy throughout the novel. It is a roller coaster ride of emotions in how Ed deals with the loss of his beloved wife and whether he is justified in his decisions following the tragic loss. Ran Walker is currently an assistant professor of English and Creative Writing at Hampton University in Hampton, VA.

The poetry category winner is Love Songs on a Mixtape by Emeka Barclay. The poems from Love Songs on a Mixtape speak to those who have loved, lost, recovered, and then loved again. The poems also allow the reader to be vulnerable and reflect on the measured risks of Black joy.  Emeka Barclay is currently teaching English and working on her second book.

The honorable mention winner for best poetry is The Reflection Within the Mirror by Janiece L. Malone. The Reflection Within the Mirror provides analysis on ongoing societal issues in the form of poetry that is accessible and thoughtful.

Some of the poems are accompanied by drawings that reflect the author’s visual interpretation of the text. Malone lives in Virginia and is currently working on a fantasy novel.

Members of the BCALA EBook Literary Awards Jury are: Tiffany A. Duck (Chair), Suffolk Public Library; Gladys Smiley Bell, Hampton University; Dana Evans, Hampton University; Annie Payton, Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University; Stacy Williams, University of Southern California; Stacy Brooks Detroit Public Library and Eddie Hughes, Southern