BCALA Announces the 2019 Literary Awards Winners

Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc.

BCALA Literary Awards

Press Release Contact: Gladys Smiley Bell, 757-727-5185

For Immediate Release or [email protected]

January 26, 2019 Press Room – The Washington State Convention Center

The Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc. (BCALA) announces the winners of the 2019 BCALA Literary Awards during the Midwinter Meeting of the American Library Association in Seattle, WA. The awards recognize excellence in adult fiction and nonfiction by African American authors published in 2018, including an award for Best Poetry and a citation for Outstanding Contribution to Publishing. The recipients will receive awards during the 2019 annual meeting of the American Library Association in Washington, DC.

The winner of the 1st Novelist Award is They come in all colors: a novel by Malcolm Hansen (Atria Books).

The Fiction category winner is An American marriage: a novel by Tayari Jones ( Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill).

The Honor Books for Fiction are Praise song for the butterflies: a novel by Bernice L. McFadden (Akashic Books) and Vain conversation: a novel by Anthony Grooms (University of South Carolina Press).

The winner in the Nonfiction category is The new Negro: the life of Alain Locke by Jeffrey C. Stewart (Oxford University Press).

The Honor Books for the Nonfiction category are Black fortunes: the story of the first six African Americans who escaped slavery and became millionaires by Shomari Wills (HarperCollins Publishers), The heritage: Black athletes, a divided America, and the politics of patriotism by Howard Bryant (Beacon Press), Looking for Lorraine: the radiant and radical life of Lorraine Hansberry (Beacon Press) by Imani Perry and Becoming by Michelle Obama (Crown Publishing Group).

The winner for BCALA’s Best Poetry Award is Door of no return by Neal Hall (Neal Hall). The Honor Books for Best Poetry are Indecency: poetry by Justin Phillip Reed (Coffee House Press), and If God invented baseball: poems by E. Ethelbert Miller (City Point Press).

The BCALA Literary Awards Committee presents the Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Citation to Farming while Black Leah Penniman (Chelsea Green Publishing).

Members of the BCALA Literary Awards Jury are: Gladys Smiley Bell (Chair), Hampton University, Hampton, VA; Tiffany A. Duck, Suffolk Public Library, Suffolk, VA; Tiffeni Fontno, Boston College, Boston, MA; LeRoy LaFleur, Tufts University, Boston, MA; Dana Evans, Hampton University, Hampton, VA; Ritchie A. Momon, Mid-Continent Public Library, Independence, MO; and John Page, Retired, Washington, D.C.