2011 - 2012 E.J. Josey Scholarship Award

The 2011-12 E J Josey Scholarship Award Committee of the Black Caucus of the American Library Association seeks essay submissions that address the following topic:  The rising popularity of social networks has introduced new opportunities and challenges for the African American community.  Discuss ways that information professionals might assist members of our community in understanding and safely using these digital tools to their advantage.

The E. J. Josey Scholarships are unrestricted grants of $2,000 awarded annually to African American students enrolled in or accepted by ALA accredited programs. In addition to the usual two (2) grants, a third BCALA 40th Anniversary Scholarship will be awarded for 2012.

Persons Wishing to Apply Must:

  • Be an African American Citizen of the United States or Canada.
  • Be enrolled or accepted by ALA-accredited graduate program leading to a degree in library and information science at the time of application.
  • The deadline for the essays is December 15, 2011
  • Essays should be submitted in Microsoft Word to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • The winning essays will be announced at the mid winter meeting of BCALA in Dallas, TX during the Midwinter Meeting of the American Library Association in January, 2012.


Special Instructions:

  • Include a cover letter providing the applicant's name, address, phone number, graduate program, and name of school and anticipated date of graduation.
  • Essay submissions must be in plain text, Microsoft Word format to be mailed electronically as an attachment.
  • Only essays submitted electronically will be considered. Please include E.J. Josey in the subject line of your electronic submission. The essay must be typed, doubled-spaced.
  • Please use the MLA style and include a minimum of six bibliographical references.
  • Essays will be judged on the basis of good argument development and critical analysis, clear language, conciseness, and creativity.


Past Winners 1994-


Alice Etim, UNC Chapel Hill,
Ashanti White, UNC Greensboro

BCALA 40th Anniversary winners,
LaTrisha E. Milton, LSU, Roderic Crooks, UCLA, Brook Posley, Clarion University, Melody Mitchell, Florida State University

2009 Sandra Eddie, Queens College, CUNY Teneka D. Taylor, U. of North Texas
2008 Orisanmi Burton, Long Island U. Myron McGhee, Valdosta State U.

Jennifer Blakely, Wayne State U. 
Ms Kafi Laramore-Josey, Wayne State U.

2006 Angela Brooks, U. of Tennessee & Tamitra Rose, North Carolina Central University
2005 Cynthia Landrum, U. of Southern Miss. & Yasmin Morais, Univ. of Toronto
2002 Ms. Delphia Williams, San Jose & Mr. Steven K. Profit,South Carolina
2001 Ms. Tamika Maddox,Pittsburgh
2000 Ms. Avril Haughton, South Florida, Ms. Delores McLemore, Clark Atlanta, Ms. Dorothy W. Williams,McGill,
1999 Mr. Sterling Joseph Coleman, Jr., LSU, Mrs. Lucia G. Fisher, North Carolina Central, & Ms. Jeralyn Jackson, Clark Atlanta
1998 Ms. Danielle M. Green,Tennessee, Mr. Roland Lemonious, Clark Atlanta, & Ms. Patricia M. Richard,San Jose
1997 Ms. E. Murell Dawson,Florida State & Mr. Steven G. Fullwood, Clark Atlanta
1996 Mr. Steven Haynie, Buffalo
1995 Ms. Tamara Stewart, Long Island
1994 Ms. Beverly Huda Abdus-Sabur, Greensboro